Tuesday, October 19

Yesterday, the sequel

Today wasn’t what I’d call an eventful day.  Just like yesterday, I spent the morning in a training session, the difference was that this one was with my manager and three other agents rather than an office-wide session.  It was in my managerial group’s office-away-from-home, namely a fast food restaurant.  Hey, it’s free and reasonably spacious, and as long as we order an occasional coffee or burger the workers don’t mind.  We started the session at around 9:30 and finished up shortly after noon.  The restaurant was starting to get a bit crowded by then, it’s possible that we would have overstayed our welcome if we hadn’t left.  As for the training, it was reasonably useful, and I got some helpful tricks of the trade from a veteran agent.  If a potential customer calls to cancel a scheduled sales call, and then resorts to the hackneyed old “let me check my schedule and get back to you” line, this agent will come right out and ask the customer if he or she is really interested in getting together, or is just trying to say “no” in a roundabout manner.  I’m not quite ready to go that far.

Following the session, I went home and just hung out for a couple hours, and then started making telephone calls.  Tomorrow I’m planning to be on the road for several hours, so I figured using the phone would suffice for today.  I had gotten more lead cards at the training session, mostly active or recently lapsed customers residing in the county seat in eastern Suffolk.  I didn’t have much luck contacting people, a mixture of voice mail and not-in-service numbers.  Some of the latter ones were for active customers, which is somewhat surprising.

Published in: on October 21, 2010 at 5:15 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/tuesday-october-19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

