Friday, November 5

Thinking about the lapses

Wednesday’s abject failure at the auto-related business still smarts.  Seven visits, no sale.  If the owner had had any sort of conscience he should have bought at least a small policy just so I wouldn’t have gone empty-handed.  It would’ve been one thing if I had kept coming back on my own accord, but in reality he kept asking me to return.  That makes a big difference.  While it didn’t dawn on me at the time, I now realize that my streak of failure with respect to lapsed customers remains dubiously intact.  While some agents seem to have success bringing former customers back into the fold, my experience is very different.  It’s not just me, as some other agents have found things to be the same way.  People who let their policies lapse do so for good reasons – either they can’t afford the premiums, they were dissatisfied with the way claims were handled, or they just don’t feel the need for coverage.  Even leaving aside the fact that it can be very difficult to make contact with lapsed customers, most of them just aren’t in the buying mood.  While I noted earlier that it’s easier to get a former customer to go from paying nothing to paying $50 a month than it is to get an existing customer to go from paying $50 to paying $100, this is presupposing that there is any interest on the lapsed customer’s part.  Usually, there isn’t.

There wasn’t very much to accomplish for the rest of the day.  My remaining active cards are almost all for residential rather than business calls.  Calling on them during the day would be mostly pointless, and Friday evenings are not especially useful either.  I made a few attempts, no luck, so basically I’ll have to wait until I get a new supply of cards next week.

Gym: upper body work tonight.  Bench press: 6 x 135, 4 x 185, 4 x 205, 5 x 5 x 225.  Neutral grip pull-ups: 3 x 4, 3 x 3.

 

Published in: on November 7, 2010 at 2:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2010/11/07/friday-november-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

