Friday, November 12

For once, I didn’t mind missing the gym

Today was one of those all-too-uncommon days when thing go perfectly.  As I had a couple of evening sales calls, I didn’t do much during the first part of the day except some telephone work.  In the early afternoon I went into the office to file the paperwork from the week’s other sales and restock my forms supply.  There are about 20 to 25 forms and brochures that I carry around in my car, everything needed to make a presentation and sale for every product we sell, and it is very important to make sure that I have enough of everything.  It’s not as if I can come back another time to complete a sale should I find myself lacking the proper forms.  If I can’t complete the sale on the spot, the customer will not be willing to make the purchase.

Later in the afternoon I headed off to a working-class community in central Suffolk for the first of the scheduled sales calls.  The customer had said he would be out with his family but would return at 5:30.  He wasn’t there at the appointed time, so I waited around for 20 minutes until he finally arrived.  Any misgivings I might have had about his late arrival quickly evaporated when he said that he wanted to buy a sizable disability policy to replace one which had lapsed a couple of years ago.  That was good, very good.  Not only was the premium quite high, but because of the length of time his policy had been lapsed he counted as a new customer, and therefore my commission was a substantially higher percentage of the premium than would be the case for an existing customer.  To make things even better, he then decided that he wanted a life insurance policy on himself and policies on a couple of family members.  I ended up filling out a total of four applications, and spending almost two hours on the call.  So long, in fact, that I had to postpone the evening’s other scheduled call until tomorrow.  By the time all was said and done it was too late for me to make it to the gym.  But I did not care in the least – the commission from this one call was high enough that I would have earned a nice income for the week even if I hadn’t sold anything else.

Published in: on November 14, 2010 at 9:22 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2010/11/14/friday-november-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

