Saturday, November 27/Sunday, November 28

I really thought that Saturday would be an excellent day for catching people at home.  Friday is of course the big shopping day, so it’s logical to presume that many people would treat Saturday as basically a day off, sticking close to home.  Right?  With this in mind I headed off to a community in eastern Suffolk with a stack of active and lapsed customer cards.  With just a little bit of luck I’d be able to speak with many of them, schedule some sales calls for the next week, and maybe even make a few sales.  What a nice Thanksgiving gift that would be.

Reality and expectations proved quite different indeed.  I made around ten stops and was able to find precisely no one.  In most cases no one at all was at home, in a few there were other people home but not the customers themselves.  In many ways the latter situation is worse, as I end up leaving my card in the full knowledge that the customers never will call.  About the only glimmer of hope is the fact that Tuesday’s “let me talk to my wife” sale is not completely dead.  When I called the customer I was shocked beyond belief to hear him answer the phone rather than let it go to voice mail.  He said that he hadn’t yet had the chance to speak with his wife, and asked me to call again in a few days.  Way I look at it, there’s probably about a one in ten chance that I’ll actually make the sale.

Gym: it was empty enough when I went in the evening that I was able to do alternate sets on bench press and neutral grip pull-ups.  As it was only a couple of days since I’d done these exercises (or similar, as I’d done dips rather than benches), I didn’t try for any records.  Bench press: 6 x 135, 4 x 185, 4 x 205, 3 x 4 x 225.  Neutral grip pull-ups: 4 x 4.  I also did 30 minutes on the stationary cycle, “hill” course, 19.8 mph.  On Sunday, I was planning to go to the gym in the mid-afternoon but something came up, and I wasn’t able to go before the 5 pm closing time.

Published in: on November 30, 2010 at 3:47 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2010/11/30/saturday-november-27sunday-november-28/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

