Wednesday, December 15

I like the cold, but I have my limits

Cold weather doesn’t bother me.  I’m not one of those people who wears multiple layers whenever the thermometer gets even close to freezing and who’s always turning up the thermostat.  Even so, on a sales call shortly after noon today I found myself yearning for the blazing tropical sun.  I was calling on some lapsed customers in a town about 20 minutes away.  At one house, the (former) policyholder was home, and she had a number of questions for me.  The thing is, she peppered me with questions as I stood on her front porch in the below-freezing weather, wearing a much-too-light jacket.  It seemed as if I was there for twenty minutes, though in reality it probably wasn’t even five minutes.  I actually shouldn’t have been engaging in this lengthy conversation in the first place.  One of the things they teach us is “don’t pitch on the porch,” in other words if a customer doesn’t invite you inside after 30 seconds or so, you should just leave.  It makes sense because if a customer doesn’t trust you enough to invite you in, he or she doesn’t trust you enough to buy anything from you.  It should come as no surprise that after the five minutes of questions and answers this woman decided that she wasn’t interested.  If it had gone another minute or so I would have become a human icicle.

While the rest of the day was warmer, it wasn’t any more successful.  I didn’t have much luck getting in contact with people, and those few I did see weren’t in a buying mood.  I am really hoping that this pre-Christmas slump doesn’t last for long. Due to some other activities in the evening, I wasn’t able to go to the gym.

Published in: on December 17, 2010 at 4:12 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2010/12/17/wednesday-december-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

