Thursday, December 16

In uncharted terrain

Today was a bit different than usual.  I spent much of the day going around with another agent in a part of central Suffolk where I’ve never previously worked.  We did some business canvassing and made some calls on existing customers. Especially when doing business canvassing, it’s often more productive to work in a pair than individually.  The agent with whom I was working started about a month after me, although he’s doing quite well in terms of sales – better than me, that’s for sure.  I was hoping to pick up on some of his success secrets, and for all I know he might have been trying to get some tips from me.  We’re going to try to work together a day or two each week because we complement each other’s strengths and weaknesses.  He is better than me at making initial approaches to potential customers (which isn’t saying much …), while he says that I’m better than him at explaining the policies once we’re in front of a customer.

We didn’t end up making any sales, though not for lack of trying.  We spoke to a couple of people who were interested in getting policies but didn’t have the money, and spent quite a while with another customer who turned out to have such complete coverage that he really didn’t need anything more.  I’m not sorry for choosing to spend the day this way, however, as I actually think I now have a better angle on how to approach people.  Being able to explain policies in a thorough yet understandable manner, as seems to be my niche, doesn’t mean much if I can’t get in front of people in the first place.  I also liked the part of the county where we worked, as it has a higher population density than my usual territory and therefore makes sales calls easier to schedule.

Gym: I was definitely satisfied with tonight’s upper-body work.  Bench press: 6 x 135, 4 x 185, 4 x 205, 3 x 6 x 225, 3 x 4 x 225, 8 x 185.  This was the first time I got a 3 x 6 at 225 in a long time, if ever.  Barbell rows: 4 x 8 x 185.  Overhead presses: 3 x 8 x 95.

Published in: on December 18, 2010 at 5:11 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2010/12/18/thursday-december-16/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

