Monday, December 20

It’s not just me

Even though I strongly suspected that my recent sales slump is due to unavoidable seasonal factors and not my own shortcomings, I’ve nonetheless harbored some doubts.  Was I doing something wrong?  Being fairly inexperienced in this business I’m always worried that my sales approach is somehow deficient.  Today’s weekly agent meeting has largely quelled my fears.  Hardly anyone did well last week, even the top agents who can sell just about anything to just about anyone.  People have different priorities during the holiday season: some people like to buy gifts, others see it as an opportunity to strengthen family and social ties, while still others view Christmas as an essentially religious holiday.  The one common theme is that no one is interested in buying insurance at this time of year.  Well, almost no one.  While the lack of significant income is not pleasant, especially given that it’s Christmas, I really don’t have much choice but to accept it and hope for the best after the first of the year.  It’s just a fact of life in this industry.  Experienced agents say that business generally picks up quite in bit in January, as peoples’ priorities change.

With all of that in mind I wasn’t expecting too much success today, and that turned out to be a self-fulfilling prophecy.  I made more customer calls in the eastern Suffolk community where I’ve been spending a couple of days each week for the past month.  This included following up on the door hangars I had left on Friday.  My efforts were largely in vain, however, as even in the early evening nobody seemed to be home.  This itself might be a seasonal factor, the result of Christmas shopping.  Tomorrow I’ll be back in the same community and hopefully will find more people around.

Gym: not being too energetic tonight, all I did was 30 minutes on the stationary cycle at 19.0 mph.

Published in: on December 22, 2010 at 4:35 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2010/12/22/monday-december-20/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

