Monday, January 10

What to do about Wednesday?

Weather forecasts call for around 1o to 12 inches of snow starting Tuesday night and continuing through Wednesday morning.  This actually creates a bit of a dilemma for me.  Taking Wednesday off as a snow day is a somewhat unpalatable idea given that I work on a commission basis.  Business canvassing would be pointless, however, as if forecasts hold I would imagine that many businesses will be closed.  At the agents’ meeting this morning – to which I was five minutes late, thanks to horrible Expressway traffic – I got a large stack of lead cards.  One thing discussed at the meeting was that Wednesday might be a good day to call on people, as many people are likely to be home from work.  The thing is, my new cards are in two communities in far eastern Suffolk, close to 50 miles from where I live.  While I generally don’t mind driving in snow, the idea of a 100-mile round trip in what’s likely to be a heavy snowstorm just doesn’t seem wise.  Especially since many of the customers are likely to be on local streets in semi-rural areas that may not be plowed in a timely manner.  Also, if the storm tracks as predicted the East End may get even more snow than my area, possibly 15 inches or more.

While my plans may change as the forecast does, what I’ll probably end up doing is making telephone calls on Wednesday.  Yeah, I know, voice mail and all that, but the stack of cards is thick enough that I might be able to get in contact with some people.  I’m also mulling over an idea for a new type of message to leave on voice mail.  At the new agents’ meeting, which has been changed to tomorrow from Wednesday in anticipation of the storm, I’ll run the idea by management and see if it might be workable.

As for today’s activities, there isn’t too much to report.  Following the meeting I did some business canvassing in central Suffolk, in the same community as last week, unfortunately without much success.  I was hoping I’d hear back from the deli owner to whom I’d made the presentation on Friday, even though logic told me that wasn’t too likely.  None of the other people I spoke to today seemed to have much interest in anything I had to offer.

Gym: a nice leg session today.  I started out with 20 minutes on the stationary cycle at 19.6 mph.  Then came seated calf raises, 3 x 12 x 135; horizontal leg presses, 4 x 8 x 360; Life Fitness seated leg curls, 4 x 8 x 185; and finally Precor seated leg extensions, 3 x 8 x 190.

Published in: on January 11, 2011 at 3:24 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/monday-january-10/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

