Tuesday, February 1

All the driving proved worthwhile

After a day spent working closer to home it was back out to Chipmunk Junction today.  I left in the mid-morning, with a cold drizzle falling but no ice on the roads, yet. Shortly after arriving in town I met my manager, as we would be going on calls together.  Every few weeks each agent spends a day with his or her manager.  I ended up quite glad that he was with me today.  One of our first stops was at a business which at one point had policies on 20 to 25 of its workers.  All of the policies lapsed several months ago, and even though none of them had been particularly large the sheer volume would result in a very big commission if I were able to reinstate them.

We spent several minutes speaking with the office manager, and it was a decidedly unsatisfactory outcome.  She said that the workers were mostly young and felt invincible, and therefore wouldn’t be interested in any sort of insurance protection.  The company formerly had paid for the policies and deducted the cost from the workers’ paychecks, and according to the office manager they’d never agree to that anymore.  It struck me as somewhat odd that the office manager was presuming to speak on behalf of more than 20 employees.  Did she really know that all of them felt invincible, or was she just presuming they’d be that way?  Whatever the case, she would not be swayed, and went on to say that if we left any informational materials for the company president he’d just shred them.

After we got back in my car I told my manager that the next time I was in the office I’d toss the 20+ employee lead cards in the recycling bin.  But he then said something that I hadn’t realized – even though it would be impossible to write any policies on the workers through the company, there was no reason why I couldn’t try to contact them directly and offer to sell them the policies on an individual basis.  None of ABC Insurance’s various types of policies have to be sold to groups as opposed to individuals  (something not true for our main competitor).  The lead cards have the workers’ home addresses and telephone numbers, so individual contact is certainly do-able.  Now, it may well be that none of them will be interested, but there’s at least the chance that I’ll be able to sell something.  Had the manager not been there, I would have tossed out the cards, and definitely would have sold nothing.

After a few more calls, mostly unproductive except for one for which I scheduled a foll0w-up visit next Tuesday, we arrived at a husband-and-wife business for a call that I had set last week.  At one point the couple had had several policies with a total premium that undoubtedly would have put them in the 99th percentile of our customers in revenue terms.  Several of the policies had lapsed over the past year or two, so now they were paying substantially less.  I figured this would make it easier to make a sale.  And indeed this was a correct assumption, as they bought a sizable policy to take the place of one that had lapsed in 2009.  My commission on the sale is not huge, but it’s enough to make this a reasonably decent week if I should sell nothing else.  I’m also going back to their business next week to see if I can sell a health policy to the young woman who works in their office, as she has no other health insurance.

It was close to six by the time we left, and the temperature had dropped enough to make the roads just a bit slippery.  I brought the manager back to his car, which he had left in a municipal lot downtown, and I drove the 75-minute trip back home hoping that the roads didn’t become treacherous.  Fortunately, driving conditions were okay.

Gym: nothing too much tonight, just a 1.5-mile run on the treadmill at 4.7 mph.

Published in: on February 2, 2011 at 5:56 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/02/02/tuesday-february-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

