Tuesday, February 15

A mediocre follow-up

Today was a day for which I had moderately high hopes.  After making some calls in the daytime, and going to the gym in the afternoon, I spent the early evening following up on those door hangers I had distributed yesterday.  Based on what I’ve heard from other agents I was really hoping to get a sale or two.  That alas was not to be.  I was able to schedule a future sales call but otherwise didn’t have much to show for my efforts.  There still are a couple of possibilities out of the round of door hangars, so I’m still hopeful of more results.  But nothing immediate, which is what I really wanted.

One of my phone calls stands out as sort of amusing in defeat.  I spent over 20 minutes talking with a current customer about ABC Insurance’s disability insurance product.  After hearing what I had to say the customer admitted to a need for disability protection and seemed interested in a policy.  When it came time for me to suggest setting a time for me to come over and discuss his situation in greater detail, however, the customer got such cold feet I could see the frost on my cell phone.  Oh no, he said, I want you to send me all your literature in the mail.  I said that I’d be in the area tomorrow and could drop it off, but that would not do – it had to be in the mail.  Not that it would have made much of a difference, as the disability policy is can be customized in so many ways that there’s really no substitute for an in-person discussion.  What presumably happened is that the customer is afraid to meet with a salesman because he might – gasp! – be talked into actually buying something. You can tell that his sales resistance is pretty close to zero!  Anyway, I can scratch this one off the list.

Gym: my afternoon session went well, as for the first time in longer than I care to remember I did some deadlifts.  Because it’s been so long I kept them light, 5 x 6 x 225.  I then did some quick bench presses, 6 x 135, 4 x 185, 4 x 205, 3 x 3 x 225.

Published in: on February 17, 2011 at 4:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/tuesday-february-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

