Tuesday, March 1

Into the robot factory

It was off in the mid-morning to the two towns where I’ll be working for a while.  They’re a reasonably close drive, about half the distance of Chipmunk Junction, which is quite a relief given current gasoline prices.  I’m still debating appropriate pseudonyms for these towns.  In any event, I spend some hours calling on current and lapsed business customers.  For two rather small, semi-rural towns they seem to have more businesses than one would expect.  I was able to schedule to calls for tomorrow.  One is for noon and the other for 1:30, which will work out nicely given that I have a 3:30 in Chipmunk Junction.  At most of the other stops, the people I needed to see weren’t in, so I’ll have to try back.  This happens especially often with construction businesses, as the owners are often out in the field rather than in the office.  One of the stops was at a small manufacturing company, and it took a strange twist.  The door to the office area was locked, so I went around the side and found an unlocked door.  Inside was a room containing several large machines, nothing odd there, except for the fact that the machines were churning away without any people present.  Not that I’m an expert on machinery or anything, but they seemed to be very modern robotic-like machines.  Finished work was dropping from a couple of them into collection bins.  You could call the whole process manufacturing without human intervention.  I finally found a worker in another room, though she told me that the office manager won’t be back until next week.  After finishing my calls I headed home in the late afternoon, and made more telephone calls.  As was the case yesterday, the calls weren’t too productive, voice mail all the way, but I have enough remaining in-person business cards to keep me busy for a while.

Gym: some surprisingly successful work.  Bench press: 6 x 135, 4 x 185, 4 x 205, 5 x 5 x 225.  First time I’ve managed a  5 x 5 at 225 in ages.  Deadlifts: 4 x 6 x 235.

Published in: on March 2, 2011 at 4:20 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/03/02/tuesday-march-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. , .
    200$
    600$
    .
    jabber( ): shell@jabber.no
    :
    , , , , , , , ,, , , ,


Leave a Reply

