Wednesday, May 11

Finally

Looks like my ultimatum actually worked.  When I said it’s-now-or-never on Monday to the business owner who had kept me coming back again and again, I knew that it was a calculated risk, there was a chance that I’d end up so alienating him that he’d never buy anything.  Well surprise of surprises this risk proved worthwhile.  I went to the business in the morning and he bought a sizable policy with very little discussion.  While it would be an exaggeration to say that he looked pleased, he was not angry or anything.  I’m really happy that things turned out this way.  Not only did I earn a very nice commission, but I should be less reluctant to speak up with stalling customers when I encounter them in the future, as I surely will.

Not all was rainbows and unicorns today, however.  There’s a saying that success builds on success, in other words that if you make a good sale it can put you in the sort of mindset that quickly leads to other nice sales.  I figured that I would have a chance of following up on this sale with others today.  Didn’t work out that way, as all my other calls came to nothing.  Either people weren’t in, or they weren’t in buying moods.  Fortunately the week’s not over, and in any event I made enough from this sale that it will be a tolerable week no matter what.

Gym: back to doing squats today, for the first time since just about forever.  I was concerned that they would feel extremely awkward, but they did not, not at all, at least for the relatively light weights that I used: 6 x 135, 6 x 185, 6 x 225, 6 x 235, 6 x 245, 6 x 255, 6 x 225. Next came seated calf raises, 4 x 12 x 135.  I finished with Life Fitness seated leg curls, 3 x 8 x 185.

Published in: on May 13, 2011 at 1:31 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/wednesday-may-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

