Monday, June 13

A backup plan, maybe

On my last day prior to starting work at JKL Sales Corporation, I headed into Nassau County for an interview with one of the companies which had contacted me after seeing my resume on Careerbuilder.com.  This company sells communications-related services to residential customers, sorry if that’s vague but if I were any more explicit it might give away too much information.  I noted while driving to the location that the road seemed familiar, but couldn’t quite recall why.  Later on it came to me – on my very first day in the field at ABC Insurance, undergoing field training with my manager, we called on a customer right on that street.  My manager was slightly acquainted with the customer, which is why we went into Nassau, and assured me on the drive over that the customer had expressed strong interest in a disability policy, and that a sale was all but guaranteed.  This call also turned out to be my very first encounter with a phenomenon I was later to encounter way too many times: “Let me talk it over with my wife.”  So much for a guaranteed sure thing.

In any event, after speaking with the manager of this sales company today, he offered me a job starting next week.  Unlike most people hiring for sales jobs, he gave me a pretty good idea of what salespeople in the office can expect to earn.  People without prior sales experience start out bringing in about $700 to $1,000 per week in commissions, while those with prior experience (like me) can expect about $1,200 to $1,500 at first.  That’s pretty good money.  On the other hand, this job would require me to be on the road quite a bit, if not to the same extent as at ABC Insurance.  In addition, the type of activities I would have to do aren’t really what I like.  What I ended up doing was asking the manager if I could have until Wednesday afternoon to decide.  That will give me two days at JKL Sales, and while those days will involve training rather than actual selling I should be able to get some idea as to what the working atmosphere is like.  It’s also possible, though less likely, that I might get a better idea what sales reps are likely to earn. If by chance I get the idea that JKL isn’t a very good place at which to work, something I certainly do not expect to hear, I will have this Nassau County offer as a backup.

Gym:  first time bench pressing in a while.  No records, but a decent performance.  6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 6 x 205, 3 x 6 x 225, 8 x 185.  I then did some cable curls, 4 x 10 x 100.

Published in: on June 14, 2011 at 5:17 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/06/14/monday-june-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

