Tuesday, July 5 – Wednesday, July 6

Refining the approach

With the holiday weekend in the rear view mirror I put in two long workdays.  Tuesday didn’t go too well in sales terms, but Wednesday was better.  This may be because I worked solo on Tuesday but spent Wednesday working as a team with a more experienced sales representative.  Interestingly enough, I did better than he did, even though he has much more experience.  One thing about sales – and it doesn’t really matter what you’re selling or the context in which you’re acting – is that some days are much better than others even though there are no obvious reasons for the differences.  It’s one of those things that just happens.  One benefit of working with a more experienced person is that I was able to refine my approach to would-be customers.  He spent about an hour observing my approaches and then gave me a detailed critique.  Something I have to work on is being a bit more casual and conversational in my approach.  The things I say are fine, it’s just that the ways I deliver them aren’t optimal.  This should come with time.

Published in: on July 8, 2011 at 3:41 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/tuesday-july-5-wednesday-july-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

