Monday, July 11 – Tuesday, July 12

Better to miss by a mile than by an inch

Neither day was particularly successful in sales terms.  Or in driving terms, as both days I had to deal with heavy Expressway traffic getting into the office.  Monday was especially frustrating, as I had four almost sales, in other words sales that looked like sure things but fell through at the last minute for reasons beyond my control.  One of them might still go through next week, I have to call the customer on Monday and see if I can get things going, but based on my experience in the insurance industry I know full well that trying to get people on the telephone in this age of voice mail is next to impossible.  Granted, the customer himself asked me to call, so maybe  there’s a slim chance I’ll actually get him on the telephone.  We’ll see.  Tuesday was similarly unsuccessful, but in a strange way it was less frustrating because this time I didn’t get remotely close with anything.  This is the essential point of working in sales: sometimes things go well, and sometimes, no matter what you do, they don’t.

Published in: on July 15, 2011 at 2:40 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/07/15/monday-july-11-tuesday-july-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

