Wednesday, July 13 – Thursday, July 14

Red Bull gives you wings … and pretty decent commissions, too

 

I’ve never really gotten the point of Red Bull.  All the “gives you wings” stuff sounds like just so much advertising hype.  Hype or not, one of the first things I noticed when I started working at JKL Sales was that many of the other salespeople consume vast amounts of the stuff.  It would be an exaggeration to say that everyone has a can of Red Bull during the morning meetings (in the (in)famous chairless meeting room), but only a slight exaggeration.  Certainly I was never going to succumb to the hype.

For reasons I still can’t quite explain, after leaving Wednesday’s meeting on my way to the day’s worksite, I decided to stop at a nearby 7-11 and get some Red Bull.  Couldn’t hurt, right?  I ended up getting a 16-ounce can.  It didn’t taste half bad, at least not the sugar-free version which I decided to get on account of all the calories in the regular stuff.  How did it work?  I definitely felt a short-lived but fairly intense rush, which may have been at least partly psychosomatic, though clearly not entirely so.  What is clear, beyond a shadow of a doubt, is that I had an excellent day in sales terms, the first time in my month at JKL Sales in which I qualified for a daily “top producer” designation.  Did the Red Bull have anything to do with my success?  There’s no way to know for sure, though I’d like to think so.  What may be relevant in this context is that Thursday was an excellent day too … and yes, I had more Red Bull.

Published in: on July 16, 2011 at 3:27 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/07/16/wednesday-july-13-thursday-july-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

