Saturday, September 3 – Monday, September 5

Confounding all expectations, I actually had a good day on Saturday.  In fact it was my first day in three weeks that I’d dare call a success.  What makes it all the more remarkable is that I worked for only three hours, and in a not-very-busy exurban location.  On Friday I spent seven hours in a jammed urban location and did far worse.  Go figure.  What I’m hoping is that Saturday is not just a fluke, but instead marks a change in the way I do business and will be followed by more success.  What gives me a measure of hope is that I made some subtle changes in my approach to potential customers, and these seem to have worked.

Based on this better performance I decided that I had earned the right to return to the gym for the first time in weeks.  On Saturday, I started out with some bench pressing, keeping things relatively light given the long layoff: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 6 x 205, 3 x 3 x 225, 6 x 185.  Nine total reps at 225 isn’t much, but it’s a start.  Next came some cable curls, 4 x 10 x 110.  These were easy.  I finished with Hammer Strength MTS shoulder presses, 3 x 8 x 100/100.  The first set was very east, the second a bit tougher, and I barely made it through the third.

Sunday I concentrated on back work.  One-arm dumbbell rows are my favorite back exercise, but as they’re fairly tough I decided to try something a bit easier this time out.  Hammer Strength MTS high rows: 4 x 8 x 110/110.  Life Fitness lower back extensions: 4 x 10 x 210.  Cable low rows: 3 x 8 x 160.

Monday was sort of an off day, being Labor Day.  Going to the gym wasn’t possible, as it was open only until noon, and of course I consider morning exercise to be a loathsome barbaric practice.  In the late morning/early afternoon I spent a couple of hours at a nearby work location, without much success.  While there was a fairly high number of people at the location, most were in too much of a rush to want to discuss the products and/or services I was offering.  For a few moments I thought I had one potential customer on the hook, but despite my best efforts I couldn’t get to the close.

Published in: on September 4, 2011 at 9:25 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/09/04/saturday-august-3-sunday-august-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You meant “September,” right? Otherwise, I think I may have had one too many glasses of wine.

  2. Whoops!


Leave a Reply

