Tuesday, October 11 – Wednesday, October 12

Old Reliable wasn’t

 

My hopes were running high as I headed off to the day’s sales location on Tuesday morning.  I would be spending the day at what has always been a fruitful location, my first time there in at least three weeks, and as I was working alone I didn’t have to worry about competing for customers with another sales representative.  It was going to be a big day!

As I slunk home several hours later I was silently cursing myself for having had such high expectations.  For these expectations proved entirely false, as I ended up with very poor results.  Bombing out in such fertile territory is somehow worse than poor results in a less promising location even though the end result in terms of earnings is just the same.  I tried to make some excuses for my performance – my energy level was very low for much of the day (free advice: 5 Hour Energy does not work), and the number of customers in this normally promising location was significantly lower than usual.  It doesn’t matter, however.  I let myself down, and that was that.

Wednesday offered a measure of redemption even though it ostensibly seemed far less promising.  I was in a location that is known for being much less busy than Tuesday’s, and I had to share it with someone else.  Despite this, after a couple of early setbacks I ended up doing decently enough.  Not enough to make me rich, after Tuesday’s woes my weekly pay is likely to be unspectacular, but enough to restore my shaky confidence.

Published in: on October 14, 2011 at 12:19 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/10/14/tuesday-october-11-wednesday-october-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

