Thursday, October 13

Snatching victory from the jaws of defeat

It was a near-certainty that today would be a disaster.  I generally like to spend about six and a half hours in the field each day.  Long enough for me to encounter a significant number of potential customers, yet short enough that I can maintain intensity and focus.  Today, however, an offsite training session began late and ran over time, meaning that I’d have less than five hours in the field.  To make matters worse, I got assigned to a not-very-busy sales location.  Finally, to make matters even more worse (is that grammatical?), I’d have to share the location with another sales representative.  More specifically, a very successful, hard-charging sales representative, trying to keep up with her would be a nightmare.

And yet … and yet … these fears proved unfounded.  After a slow start my luck did a 180 and I finished strong.  It was my best sales day of the week, despite the supposed obstacles I faced.  There’s a lesson here, even if I’m not entirely sure what it is.

Published in: on October 15, 2011 at 4:25 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/10/15/thursday-october-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

