Thursday, November 17 – Friday, November 18

Seasonal business

Both days were reasonably good if not outstanding.  I was concerned that the approaching holiday season might adversely affect the market for the products and/or services I sell, but so far this hasn’t happened.  Whether this may change is yet to be seen.  There’s no way of knowing for sure, as my employer did not start selling these particular products and/or services until early this year.  I’m going to be cautiously optimistic and surmise that the seasonal factor won’t be significant.  The products and/or services aren’t the sort of things people would give as gifts, hence my concern about possible adverse effects, but then again there’s no clear reason why sales should suffer to any meaningful extent.  Of course this would be far easier to understand if I could simply say what it is I’m selling, but there’s no way to do so without giving away too many clues.

On a different note, after doing most of my recent reading on my cell phone’s free Kindle app, I’m actually reading an old-fashioned, dead-tree book: Krakatoa, the Day the World Exploded, a nonfiction story about the 1883 volcanic explosion that among much else produced the Loudest Sound in Human History.  The blast actually could be heard thousands of miles away … and you complain about your neighbor’s loud TV.  But seriously, as much as I like the cell phone Kindle there’s an undeniable advantage to reading a physical book, in terms of larger type size and a much greater ability to flip backward and forward.  Which isn’t to say that I’m about to run out to bookstores anytime soon.  I got the copy of Krakatoa several years ago as a gift.

 

Published in: on November 22, 2011 at 4:25 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/thursday-november-17-friday-november-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

