Thursday, December 28 – Friday, December 29

Back on the LIRR, for a day

I had some business to attend to in Manhattan on Thursday, so for the first time in over a year I found myself riding the LIRR.  Not during rush hour, thankfully.  I got the 9:11 from Ronkonkoma to Penn, which happens to be the first off-peak train of the morning.  It was an M-3 consist, which turned out quite well for me because the 50ish woman who took the seat next to me at Central Islip was, well, I believe “BBW” is the current euphemism of choice.  There was (just) enough room for me to breathe … had it been an M-7 consist, with the hideous torture seats designed for midget anorectic quadruple amputees, I would have suffocated before we got to Brentwood.  The ride itself was uneventful, although the train was packed – in the car where I rode, near the east end of the consist, there were standees after Deer Park.  Apparently it never occurred to LIRR management that off-peak ridership during a school vacation week is going to be heavier the usual.

After an on-time arrival at Penn (which seems pretty well unchanged), I got a 1 local a couple of stops to 50th Street.  Although I had left myself plenty of time to get to my destination in a timely manner, there were a few anxious moments at 42nd as we sat on the platform with doors closed for almost 10 minutes (“Being held by dispatch”).  I later found out that a non-fatal 12-9 (person run over by train) a couple of hours earlier had caused residual delays along the entire line.

After taking care of my business matters I decided to walk back to Penn.  Not that I feared more subway delays, I just felt like walking.   I ended up taking the 2:14 to Ronkonkoma, this time an M-7 consist.  It was a lot less crowded than the morning’s train, and in fact no one sat next to me the entire way.  What rendered the ride a bit less than pleasant was the noise level.  Several people traveling together elsewhere in the car seemed unable to communicate except via shouting.  Still, it was an easy enough ride, and we got to Ronkonkoma on time.

Friday was uneventful, though I was in a usually busy location the customer traffic was very low.  Not surprising, right before the New Year’s weekend.

Published in: on January 5, 2012 at 12:39 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/01/05/thursday-december-28-friday-december-29/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

