Monday, January 2 – Wednesday, January 4

My guess was correct

During these last couple of very slow weeks I kept telling myself that things would pick up after the holidays.  In part this was wishful thinking, and in part it was based on what I’d heard from more experienced salespeople.  As you might imagine, I was harboring significant doubts.  Deep down I was concerned that sales would continue along their dismal path.

It doesn’t appear that my concerns became reality.  Monday was a pretty good day.  Because many people had the day off, what with New Year’s Day falling on a Sunday, customer traffic was much heavier than usual for early in the week even though I was at a sales location that isn’t among the busier ones.  Tuesday wasn’t quite as good, but Wednesday picked up nicely.  Another thing I noticed is that people seemed friendlier than they had been since at least Thanksgiving.  For all the incessant chatter about Christmas Spirit and Good Will Towards All, it is no secret that many, many people find the holidays a stressful if not outright unpleasant time of year.  I saw this in action, and the post-holidays contrast is quite stark.

Published in: on January 7, 2012 at 7:16 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/01/07/monday-january-2-wednesday-january-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

