Monday, January 30 – Tuesday, January 31

It’s going to take some time to get used to thinking of Monday and Tuesday as the weekend.  Not that there’s anything bad about this sort of schedule, in fact it has some advantages.  One advantage came on Monday afternoon, when I found out that I needed to make a trip to the DMV.  Normally, I would have been working at that time.

I went to the gym in the late afternoon on Monday and had a very good session of bench pressing: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 5 x 225, 2 x 4 x 225, 2 x 3 x 225, 4 x 205, 6 x 185, 6 x 165, 6 x 135.  It was nice getting five reps at 225.  My goal is to build that number up to eight within a month and, hopefully within another couple of months, get 10 reps for the first time ever.  After the benching I did some seated shoulder presses, 2 x 8 x 115.  I wanted to do four sets of eight, but the heavy benching had taken too much out of me and I had to stop after two sets.

On Tuesday I went to the gym much later, around 9:15.  I was going to do some back work, but instead of doing one-arm dumbbell rows like I usually do, I decided to do neutral-grip pull ups.  I really struggled with them last week, not having done any in months, so I have a lot of catching up to do.  As I still can’t do more than a few at a time I decided to try as many low-rep sets as possible: 3 x 3, 8 x 2.  Doing a total of 25 should get me on the way to recovery.

About the only other thing of note I did on my “weekend” is make dinner each night.  On both Sunday and Monday I made things out of a relatively old Chinese cookbook we recently found in a storage box.  On Sunday I made sweet and sour meatballs, and on Monday it was braised beef shin with Chinese cabbage.  Not your typical fare, in fact I had never thought of meatballs as Chinese food at all, but both came out well.  On Tuesday it was off to Mexico for chicken enchiladas.  I’ve made these several times before.

Published in: on February 1, 2012 at 4:28 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/02/01/monday-january-30-tuesday-january-31/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

