Friday, February 3 – Sunday, February 5

What a difference a day makes, foot traffic edition

On Friday I went to the Major Home Improvement Chain (MHIC) outlet about 15 miles away that I’ve come to think of as my home store.  In part it’s because the store management wants me there twice  a week, not an easy task given that it’s just one of eight stores in my rotation.  It’s also because the store lead generator, a MHIC employee rather than a vendor like me, is at least partly responsible for my getting the job in the first place.  I had dealt with him in my prior job at JKL Sales, and the manager at my current job called him when deciding whether to hire me.  Hey, if any store is to be my home store, this one’s a good choice, the employees are friendly and most of the customers are pretty decent too.

On Saturday I went to a store about five miles from me, the same one I had been to last Sunday.  I also have a very good relationship with the lead generator, on Sunday she was very helpful and today was no different.  She was training a new lead generator who was just hired to work at a different store, not one on my rotation, and actually had me speak to her and give some tips.  Not that I could offer much, being so new on the job myself and also being a vendor employee, but I did my best.  As for the store itself, it was packed.  On the first Saturday of each month every MHIC store has a children’s workshop, at which children can build small craft items, and they always draw a big crowd.  This of course worked out well for me, in terms of getting business.

Sunday was a much slower day, which wasn’t surprising given that it was Super Bowl Sunday.  I figured that most shopping traffic would come early in the day, so I got an early start.  I was at one of my stores for the first time, located just a few miles from Friday’s “home” store.  In fact it’s slightly surprising that MHIC located two stores in such close proximity – three, actually, as there is another one (not on my rotation) in the area – but presumably they know what they’re doing.  It was slow, but okay, and I met the lead generator for the first time.  He was glad to see me, as he had been asking my employer for quite some time to send someone to his store.  He also wants me to come twice a week, but with a total of eight stores on my rotation including another twice-a-weeker, that just wouldn’t be practical.  I can only be in one place at a time 🙂

Gym: I had a terrific bench press session on Saturday night.  That is no exaggeration.  My numbers were way better than I ever would have hoped: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 7 x 225, 2 x 5 x 225, 2 x 4 x 225, 12 x 135.  My goal of ten at 225 may be closer than expected.

Published in: on February 7, 2012 at 3:26 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/02/07/friday-february-3-sunday-february-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

