Wednesday, February 8 – Friday, February 10

Language skills

On Wednesday I went to the one Major Home Improvement Center (MHIC) store on my rotation that I hadn’t yet visited.  It’s not that far from me, probably under ten miles, although the last part of the route involved an annoying number of traffic lights.  The store itself is one of the newer ones in Suffolk County, and seemed to have more spacious aisles than some of the others.  While it was relatively busy, it soon became apparent that a substantial percentage of the customers did not speak English well or at all.  It took me a bit by surprise, though knowing the demographics of the area I should have expected that.  Not that I’m really complaining, it was pleasant to be in a new store and meeting new employees.

I didn’t work on Thursday, mainly because of nasty congestion and a sore throat.  These symptoms had bothered me on Wednesday, but they got worse overnight.  While not fully recovered, on Friday I went to a store close to me for the third time in the three weeks I’ve been on the job.  It’s also one of the newer stores, as well as the busiest one in my rotation based on revenues.  I had a pretty decent day, one thing that helped is that my throat was definitely on the way to improvement.

Published in: on February 12, 2012 at 11:14 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/wednesday-february-8-friday-february-10/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

