Saturday, February 11 – Sunday, February 12

Bang.  Hoist.  Yay.

I stayed close to home on Saturday, working at the closest Major Home Improvement Center store to me.  It’s about three miles.  There’s another store that’s possibly a bit closer, but that one isn’t on my rotation.  Anyway, the store lead generator was most helpful, getting a table for me so I could display my brochures and other promotional materials.  Especially popular were the refrigerator magnets in the shape of a service truck.  Significantly, they bear the name and phone number of the vendor that employs me.  It is significant because MHIC corporate policy prohibits vendors from using the vendors’ telephone numbers on any business cards or other printed materials distributed in the stores.  Only the MHIC 800 number can be used.  This policy does not, however, apply to refrigerator magnets or any other non-paper items.  Anyway, it was a pretty good day, and my 6-hour shift went by in a flash.

I didn’t work on Sunday, I’ll make up for it by working Monday, because I had other plans – specifically, going to a range and shooting an assault rifle.  My prior experience with guns has been limited, and I was fearful that the range would be packed with rednecks who ridicule newcomers.  Nothing of the sort happened.  I shared use of  an SKS semiautomatic rifle in 7.62 x 39 caliber, a round that’s suitable for deer but is most commonly used on game animals of the 2-legged variety.  Going to the range cost $15 in ammunition and $15 in range fees.  Targets cost 50 cents.  In addition to the traditional bull’s-eye there were targets with human silhouettes. I didn’t want to go quite that far and instead got one with the picture of a turkey.

While I wasn’t keeping count of the number of rounds I fired, it was probably about 35 because the three of us using the rifle had a total of 110 rounds and we tried to keep our usage even.  I ended up hitting Turkey Lurkey nine times, which isn’t bad considering I was firing an iron-sighted rifle (and SKS’s aren’t known for pinpoint accuracy) at a target 100 yards away.  Not to mention the fact that I’m new at the game.  Most of the 50 or so other shooters were using shotguns or scoped rifles, though there were a couple using iron-sighted AK 47’s and one man using a really cool cowboy-style lever action rifle.

One thing that took me by surprise is just how loud rifles are.  Even with foam earplugs my ears were ringing for hours afterward.  One thing that contributed to the racket was the rifle being used by the man at the shooting station right next to us.  It was a custom-built rifle which he said cost $5,000, the scope looked like something an astronomer would use to explore distant galaxies.  Not only was the rifle in the very powerful .308 caliber, but it was equipped with a device that the shooter called a muzzle brake.  This reduced the recoil, at a cost of greatly increased sound.  Even standing several feet away I could feel the shockwave when he fired the rifle.

Noise or not, I had a grand old time, and when we got home it was early enough for me to make a quick gym trip.  And what a pleasant trip it turned out to be.  I did bench presses, and did better than I would have dared to hope: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 8 x 225, 4 x 235, 2 x 245, 6 x 225, 4 x 225, 10 x 135.  Just two away from my goal of getting ten at 225.  So close I can taste it, metaphorically speaking of course.  One thing I might try next time is doing a single rep at 245 or even 255 before going for multiple reps at 225.  This is supposed to help make it easier to hit multiple reps at the lighter weight.  I’ve tried that sort of thing years ago without much effect that I can recall, but it might be worth giving it another go.

Published in: on February 14, 2012 at 4:23 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/02/14/saturday-february-11-sunday-february-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Texas Parks and Wildlife [Official] – wildlife conservation » ConservationNice Cupolas photosSaturday, February 11 – Sunday, February 12the National Defense Secretariat (SEDENA) seized guns, drugs, in Jalisco  #igit_rpwt_css { […]


Leave a Reply

