Monday, February 13 – Tuesday, February 14

Mondays are usually a day off for me, but I worked this Monday because I had taken Sunday off.  In an unusual move, I divided my time between two MHIC stores rather than staying at one for the full shift.  It was easy in this case because the two stores are about a ten minute drive apart.  Curiously, despite this geographic proximity, the customer demographics were quite different.  I figured that store-splitting in this manner may help me deal with the demands on my time.  As noted, there are eight stores in my rotation, and one of them (in fact, the first one I went to today) wants me there twice a week.

Later in the evening I went to the gym to do some pull-ups.  My original plan was to do trap bar deadlifts, but some knee soreness convinced me to wait.  While I still can’t do many pull-ups per set, at least I did a lot of sets: 12 x 3, 5 x 2.  A total of 46 neutral pull-ups, I was trying for 50 but couldn’t quite get there.

Tuesday was off, which is good as it was Valentine’s Day.  In a true miracle, the cats did not devour the bouquet of orange roses I brought home.  Maybe they only like the red variety.

Published in: on February 18, 2012 at 2:21 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/monday-february-13-tuesday-february-14/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I wonder what makes the pull-up such a unique challenge? When I was in my 20s I could do them until the cows came home (I was also 145 lbs, dripping wet). 50 lbs and 20-plus years later, I really have to make it a goal to reach 9 reps. Five seems to be my good-form limit. But here’s the weird thing: I can add 10, even 20 lbs to my person and still do 4 reps in good form. That wouldn’t hold true with a bench-press, or even with squats. There’s some logic-defying musculature at work, here.

  2. As much as I hate to admit it, my struggles with pull-ups are most likely the result of too much _avoirdupois_. If I lost 25 pounds my rep count definitely would increase.


Leave a Reply

