Monday, March 5 – Tuesday, March 6

Monday started out as a complete do-nothing day.  I ran a couple of errands, but that was about it.  Even after all these weeks I’m still trying to get used to the idea of having Mondays (and Tuesdays) off.  When I’m out and about I can’t help but thinking that most people assume I’m unemployed.  In any event, things got more interesting in the late afternoon when I drove into Queens for a slide presentation by Frank Jump (one of my Facebook friends) about fading ads. He has spent years documenting and photographing the advertising signs painted on the sides of buildings in the city, some of them well over a century old, advertising what are in most cases long-vanished businesses and products.

While I was driving at the height of rush hour, I was going in the opposite direction than the main traffic flow and therefore encountered few significant delays other than about a five-minute slowdown near the Nassau-Queens line.  Now, the people heading eastbound, they had it a lot worse!  The presentation was at the Astoria Historical Society on Broadway in Astoria, on the fourth floor of a building that also housed a funeral parlor.  I knew I made it to the right room when I walked in and no stiffs were in evidence.

On my way home from the presentation (which was excellent), I noticed with some amusement that the stretch of Broadway between the funeral parlor and the Expressway, a distance of maybe three or four miles, passed through three distinct ethnic areas: Latin American, South Asian, and East Asian.  That’s got to be some record for the most ethnic diversity in the shortest distance!  Once I got on the Expressway it was an absolute breeze getting home.  Quite a contrast from the nightmare an eastbound trip would have been a couple hours earlier.

I didn’t do much of consequence on Tuesday, except for making a late afternoon trip to the gym.  It was Leg Day, and for the first time in at least six months I did some squats: 6 x 135, 6 x 185, 4 x 6 x 225.  Back when I was more into the swing of things, so to speak, 225 was an easy warmup on squats.  Today, being so out of practice, it was a bit of a struggle getting through the four sets at that weight.  At least I was careful to get proper depth on each rep.  I also did seated calf raises, 3 x 12 x 145, and Life Fitness seated leg presses, 3 x 8 x 395.

Published in: on March 9, 2012 at 1:29 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/monday-march-5-tuesday-march-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

