Wednesday, March 7 – Thursday, March 8

Changing plans on the fly

Wednesday was my day to go to my “home” Major Home Improvement Center store, the one that wants me there twice a week.  On the way in I stopped at the office to get more supplies.  Refrigerator magnets in particular, as everyone loves refrigerator magnets.  Traffic wasn’t an issue, and I got to the store in less time than I had planned.  Speaking of traffic, for reasons I can’t explain customer traffic in the store was very slow.  I don’t know why, this store is usually quite busy, but today everyone was staying away in droves.  So to speak.  When things aren’t busy, my shift seems to last forever, and today was no exception.

On Thursday I was planning to go to a store about 10 miles away that I’ve only been to once in the past month.  In other words, I really had to make an appearance.  As I pulled into the parking lot, however, I noticed a sign advertising a spring home show event on Saturday.  As obviously I would be going to that event, I decided to go to another store today.  The one I went to, interestingly just a few miles away from my “home” store, is one of the newer ones in Suffolk County and as such is more spacious and open than most others.   My display in this store is not in the front aisle near the registers, but just off the main entrance across from the light bulbs.  That’s actually a good thing.  Most of the people who pass my display have just entered the store and as such may be more prone to stop and see what I’m offering.  They’re not in a hurry to leave, which is often the case with people who pass my next-to-the-registers displays in other stores. Being near the light bulbs helps too, as there seems to be no other part of a MHIC store that gets more customer traffic than the light bulb section.  I suppose that’s because buying light bulbs is more complicated than it used to be, what with incandescents, CFL’s, and LED’s.  And, coming soon, ESL’s (electron stimulated luminescence).

In any event, I was busier than I had been the day before.  This store seems to do pretty good business, which is a bit surprising.  Although it’s next door to a Wal-Mart, it’s in a somewhat out-of-the-way location, you’d never stumble across it by mistake.  I suppose the Wally World is enough of a magnet that people are drawn to the area.  Speaking of that store, after my shift I went there to get a few things, and was very happy to find that two-liter bottles of Diet Rite soda are just a dollar each.  That’s about half the price of diet soda in most supermarkets!

On Thursday evening I went to the gym, ready to do some bench pressing now that the lingering elbow soreness has finally gone.  I was hoping to reach my goal of ten reps at 225, but given that I missed a week I wasn’t expecting that to happen.  Indeed, it didn’t happen.  The best I could do was seven at 225, which is still a very respectable number.  Next time.  What I ended up benching was 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 1 x 235, 7 x 225, 5 x 225, 3 x 225, 10 x 185, 12 x 135.

Published in: on March 11, 2012 at 2:15 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/03/11/wednesday-march-7-thursday-march-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

