Friday, March 9 – Sunday, March 11

An event, and a new location

Friday was not one of my more interesting days.  I was at a relatively nearby Major Home Improvement Center store, one where I’ve usually had decent results, but today I really struggled to get people interested.  In this store I have a table in front of my display, which has materials on other services which the MHIC offers, yet it didn’t do much in terms of attracting attention.  I spoke to fewer customers today than is usually the case. It might have been because today was a Friday.  Going to the local MHIC is a weekend-project sort of thing for many customers, so it makes sense that Fridays are on the slow side.  Working a nonstandard schedule as I do makes it easy to forget the meanings that various days of the week have for most people.

If Friday had been slow, Saturday was downright hopping.  It was the “Spring Home Show” event at the store where I had planned on going on Thursday.  There were a number of vendors in the store, and each one including me got a table decorated with balloons to help attract attention.  I had a steady stream of customers dropping by all day.  The one downside, as I expected for this store, is that many customers spoke little or no English.  In one case I gave a three- or four-minute presentation with a helpful store employee translating for the customers.  All in all, a very successful day.

Late on Saturday evening I went to the gym for some back work.  Last time I did T-bar rows and really liked doing them, so tonight I did the same instead of pull-ups as I had originally planned.  The rows went very well: 8 x 135, 8 x 145, 8 x 150, 8 x 155, 2 x 8 x 160, 10 x 100.

On Sunday I went for the first time to the one MHIC on my rotation that’s in Nassau County.  Its floor layout is a bit different than most other stores, no doubt an accommodation to the shape of the lot on which it’s located, and more to the point it’s the one store in which my display is not at or near the front end.  It instead is located on the main transverse corridor in the middle of the store, known in MHIC lingo as the “racetrack.”  (Note: a MHIC store near Roosevelt Field Mall, not on my rotation, is known as Raceway.  It presumably has a Raceway racetrack …)  I had some initial misgivings about this location, but they proved unwarranted.  After an hour or so it became evident that most of the customers made it past my location, and more to the point they weren’t in a hurry to check out.  As I’ve noted before, this can be an issue in stores where my display is near the registers. It turned out to be a pretty good day even though the store wasn’t crowded, and the employees were among the friendliest bunch I’ve yet encountered.

Published in: on March 12, 2012 at 11:10 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/03/12/friday-march-9-sunday-march-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

