Monday, March 12 – Tuesday, March 13

I didn’t do much of consequence on either of these two days off, unless you count a not-very-successful attempt at making potatoes au gratin on Monday.  They weren’t bad, just a bit on the dry side.  As for my gym trips, they were definitely more successful than my culinary exploits.  I went late in the evening on Monday, for a “maintenance” bench press session.  In other words, I wasn’t trying to reach my goal of 10 x 225, or even have that hard of a session.  It was meant to be a light session to keep my numbers from slipping.  I ended up doing 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 6 x 225, 10 x 185, 12 x 135.  As I was doing the fourth and fifth reps at 225 they were going so well that I actually thought for a moment that I might be able to go for ten and hit my goal sooner than imagined.  Everything changed when I started the sixth rep, however.  It was a real struggle and obviously would be my last one of the set.

On Tuesday I went in the mid-afternoon and did some leg work.  It started out with squats, with better numbers than last week: 6 x 185, 6 x 225, 2 x 6 x 245, 2 x 6 x 225.  Once again, proper depth on all of the reps.  One thing about squats is that they are an exhausting sweaty exercise in a way that even bench presses aren’t.  It’s clear that they are a full-body exercise at least on a par with deadlifts.  Based on what I’ve heard the Olympic lifts are even more draining, though the gym doesn’t have a platform for doing them and I’ve never given them a try.  I also did seated calf raises, 4 x 12 x 150, and Life Fitness seated leg presses, 3 x 10 x 395. In addition to the back work I also did some T-bar rows, nothing heavy, 4 x 8 x 135.

Published in: on March 14, 2012 at 3:09 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/monday-march-12-tuesday-march-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

