Wednesday, March 14 – Friday, March 16

Well this is certainly going to be quite a change

There isn’t much point in spending time on Wednesday’s and Thursday’s activities because what happened on Friday rendered them more or less irrelevant.  Suffice to say that they were decent if not outstanding days, Wednesday being at a Major Home Improvement Center store not far from me and Thursday at my “home” store.  Or former home store, as shall be seen.

When I went into the office on Friday morning to get my paycheck a big surprise was afoot.  Starting Monday I am being transferred to the company’s commercial and industrial sales division.  No more working displays in MHIC stores.  I’ll be working out of an office, dealing with customers primarily over the phone and on the computer.  The good news is that my base salary will increase by about one-third, needless to say I am very pleased about that fact.  My commissions should increase too, though I’m not going to jump to any conclusions until I see just how things play out.  Though even if my commissions remain mostly the same the significantly increased base makes this a very positive development from a financial standpoint.

The fact that I mentioned “the good news” in the preceding paragraph should be a tip-off that there will be a downside to this change.  It turns out that office where I will be working is in Nassau County.  And not just over the Suffolk line, either, but in the far reaches of western Nassau.  Google Maps shows it to be a 40+ mile drive each way.  Even more to the point, I’ll be working a standard Monday-Friday schedule, and therefore will have to deal with Expressway rush hour traffic twice every day.*  Ugh. I know, I know, I’m not special, huge numbers of people have to deal with rush hour traffic every day (actually, if it weren’t for all these people dealing with rush hour there wouldn’t be such a thing as rush hour, duh).  It’ll just take quite a bit of getting-used-to.

How I’ll occupy myself during the drive is another issue, as broadcast radio is utterly unlistenable and I don’t have satellite radio.  Maybe some books on CD.  Whatever the case, I shouldn’t complain, this will be a nice step up in occupational terms, and being in an office environment will be a change from working in retail stores.

Gym: on Thursday evening I did some bench pressing, unfortunately I wasn’t quite ready for my goal of ten at 225.  It was still a good session: 6 x 135, 4 x 165, 4 x 185, 2 x 205, 1 x 235, 8 x 225, 4 x 235, 2 x 245, 6 x 225, 10 x 185, 12 x 135.

* = in theory I could make the trip by train, but it would require a connection and actually some backtracking, and would make for a very long day.  Still, I’m glad the possibility exists.

Published in: on March 18, 2012 at 6:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/03/18/wednesday-march-14-friday-march-16/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

