Saturday, March 24 – Sunday, March 25

I still wasn’t back to 100% on Saturday and for most of the day had my doubts about going to the gym.  Around 6 in the evening, however, I finally decided to give it a try, not going for any records or anything, but just doing the best I could.  It was a smart decision.  My bench press session was not earth-shattering, but certainly respectable: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 4 x 185, 2 x 205, 4 x 4 x 225, 10 x 185, 12 x 135.

Later that evening I watched boxing on HBO.  And was reminded, not that I really needed any reminder, that people who complain about NBA referees who won’t call fouls on superstars or MLB umpires with wildly inconsistent strike zones should be thankful that the officiating in those sports (and others) are not as hopelessly corrupt and incompetent as in boxing.  Google “Kirkland-Molina stoppage” if you want to read the whole sorry story for yourself.

Sunday was a mostly lazy day, my mid-afternoon gym excursion being my only trip out of the house all day.  I did T-bar rows, my new favorite exercise: 8 x 145, 8 x 150, 8 x 155, 8 x 160, 2 x 8 x 165, 8 x 145.  The 165 represents a new high on this exercise.  My goal is to get to 180, which will be four plates on the apparatus.

Published in: on March 26, 2012 at 11:53 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/saturday-march-24-sunday-march-25/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

