Tuesday, March 27 – Wednesday, March 28

Decent numbers; and, what to avoid
It is basic human nature that people are compelled to look at things they shouldn’t.  Put up a sign on the sidewalk saying “Don’t look here” and passerby will be getting sore necks from turning to look.  Even so, it may not be entirely impossible for free will to overcome aspects of human nature.  I refer, of course, to the blogospheric obsession with the Trayvon Martin case. Although I am drawn to the endless number of postings analyzing every minute aspect of this case, I have (so far) been able to overcome this natural attraction and am avoiding these parts of the blogosphere as much as possible.  And I’m glad I’ve done so!

Nothing noteworthy happened at work either of these days.  I went into the relatively nearby satellite office and put in my time.  One thing I’ve noticed about this office, a consequence of its physical design and ambient noise level, is that it’s easy – indeed, unavoidable – to overhear other workers.  There also are a couple of people who seem to take the basic human love of gossip and ratchet it up about a hundred notches.  As is the case with the blogospheric discussions noted in the prior paragraph, I do not want to hear this gossip, I have less interest in it than I do in the 2004 Turkmenistan cotton harvest.  Fortunately, after the first couple of hours I developed the ability to tune it out as much as possible.

I didn’t go to the gym on Tuesday, but I had a very good session on Wednesday evening.  I began with T-bar rows: 8 x 145, 8 x 150, 8 x 155, 8 x 160, 8 x 165, 8 x 170.  The set at 170 is  a new record, at least as far as I remember.  A few years back I was on a T-bar row spell for a while and might have gotten 170, I just don’t remember for sure.  After the rows came a fairly quick bench press session: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 6 x 185, 4 x 205, 8 x 225.  As has happened before, when I was midway through the set at 225 I briefly thought I might be able to hit my goal of ten reps, but on the seventh and especially the eighth reps I knew that wasn’t going to be the case tonight.

Published in: on March 30, 2012 at 2:34 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/03/30/tuesday-march-26-wednesday-march-27/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

