Thursday, March 29 – Friday, March 30

More driving

I found out on Thursday that starting on Monday I’ll be attending a 3-week training program located in the western part of Suffolk County.  It’s about 20 miles away, which wouldn’t be bad except for the fact that most of the time I’ll be right in the heart of Expressway rush hour traffic.  The program runs 8 to 6 on Monday through Thursday, 8 to noon on Friday.  I’ll be nice only having to work a half day on Friday, and of course I’ll avoid rush hour on Friday afternoons, but nine rush hours a week is nine too many.  I’m expecting that the 20-mile drive will take an hour.

Another thing that will go up is my gasoline spending.  Granted, I’m being sufficiently well-paid for the program that the cost of gas won’t break the bank, but now that the price is over four dollars a gallon it’s still going to hurt.  Another thing that doesn’t help is the fact that my car, a Subaru Forester, has distinctly unimpressive mileage, generally not much over 20 mpg.  Not that any cars get anything remotely close to their advertised mileage, of course.  It’s interesting to note that gas prices may end up being a significant factor in the upcoming election, even though presidents can’t do much about them.

I wasn’t able to make it to the gym on Thursday, but did some leg work on Friday.  For the first time in a couple of weeks I did squats: 2 x 6 x 225, 3 x 6 x 245.  Not huge weights, but I was very careful to get proper depth on all of the reps.  It’s so common to see people (ostensibly) squatting heavy weights but not going remotely close to the proper depth.  Somewhat paradoxically, these half-depth squats are actually harder on the knees than ones done to full depth.  After the squats I did seated calf raises, 3 x 12 x 155.  I was going to do some leg presses, but my left ankle was quite painful, apparently from an awkward calf raise rep, so I decided to call it an evening.

Published in: on April 2, 2012 at 1:21 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/04/02/thursday-march-29-friday-march-30/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

