Monday, April 30 – Tuesday, May 1

Just ducky.

A carless start to a new week.  I got up at a very early hour, as in roosters-crowing hour (if there were, you know, any roosters in the area) to drive my wife to work.  After stopping back at home for a while, I headed off to my job in her car.  While I was driving there I got a call from the repair shop about my car.  It was most assuredly not good news.    The motor damage is so severe that it will have to be either replaced or rebuilt.  Replacement will cost $5,000, with the new motor from Subaru being $4,000 and another $1,000 for the labor, while a rebuild will cost $4,000.  I asked about getting a motor from a junkyard but the mechanic seemed rather negative about the idea.  Why, I don’t understand.  My car has over 100,000 miles on it, so getting a brand-new motor seems like a waste.

When I got home from work – not surprisingly, it wasn’t a very productive day – I did some research into prices for junkyard motors.  What I found out considerably brightened my dour mood.  A motor with 103,000 miles on it, less mileage than my car, can be had for just over $1,500 with free shipping.  Combined with the installation labor that would run about $2,500, still a ghastly amount but a lot better than the $5,000 I’d be spending for a new motor. I’m still looking into more options, including a couple of backyard-mechanic types who can rebuild motors.

My wife had Tuesday off and was going to drive me to the Patchogue train station so I could get the LIRR to work, but it was raining heavily and the 1.5-mile walk from the destination station to my workplace looked like a really bad idea.    Fortunately, she said I could borrow her car.  Traffic on the Sunrise Highway was an absolute stop-and-go nightmare, most likely because of the rain, and the trip into work took almost twice as long as usual.  The trip home was easy, however.

As it looks as if my car will be out of service for a while, it may take time to locate an engine rebuilder and then they may work slowly, I decided to check with the local Enterprise car rental office to see if they had any deals.  To my pleasant surprise I was able to find a very attractive rate.  It was for a Corolla, Sentra, or similar model.  When I got to the local office, just before closing, the very friendly young woman agent told me that they didn’t have any cars in that size, but they would be happy to upgrade me at no additional cost.  Great, I said, figuring that it would be something like a Camry or an Accord.  You can imagine my surprise when it turned out to be a Chevy Silverado.

I wasn’t able to make it to the gym on Monday, due to the car situation, but on Tuesday evening I cruised there in my bright silver pickup and ellipted for 25 minutes.

Published in: on May 4, 2012 at 1:51 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/monday-april-30-tuesday-may-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

