Wednesday, March 2 – Friday, March 4

The new sales campaign

Three relatively quiet days at work as I wound down the existing sales campaign in preparation for Monday’s rollout of the new one.  It’s going to be quite an adjustment.  I’ll be focusing on different commercial customers, and with some different products and/or services, but those aren’t the big changes.  What’s going to take some getting-used-to is that for the first time I will have considerable authority to negotiate prices with prospective customers.  Not unlimited authority, of course; for each product and/or service I’ll have a floor price and for some of them there will be a “suggested minimum,”  namely a price which I can drop below only when there’s absolutely no other way to save the deal.   Still, even with the limitations I’m glad that I won’t have to deal with fixed prices.  There have been more than a few potential sales that fell through because I couldn’t beat a competitor’s very slightly lower price.  I also like the greater degree of responsibility that I’ll have.

As for the car situation, I’m still trying to see if I can get a better deal on a junkyard motor.  There’s one in Staten Island that slightly less than the one I located online and has somewhat less mileage, moreover it’s still in the car so I can verify its mileage.  The downside is that the seller wants $100 for delivery, while the online one (which is in Akron, Ohio, of all places) comes with free shipping. Meanwhile, I’m getting more used to driving the rental Silverado, it’s actually fun to drive although the fuel economy is dreadful.  No traffic problems at all any of these days.

Published in: on May 6, 2012 at 7:12 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/wednesday-march-2-friday-march-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

