Tuesday, May 22 – Thursday, May 24

Bureaucracy in inaction

Days off for me, now that my sales days are in the rearview mirror.  Tuesday was m wife’s birthday, so I went to a new fish store in town to get her a lobster.  I asked for the biggest one available, which turned out to be a 2.25-pound behemoth.  One slight disadvantage is that the rubber band had come off one of its claws.  The store clerk cautioned me about it, and on the drive home I was half-expecting to feel a very sharp pain as the lobster made a counterattack.  Fortunately, it made it into the boiling water with all nearby human flesh still intact.

Wednesday I didn’t do much during the day, but in the late afternoon made a trip to the gym.  I did some benching as well as the back work I had meant to do last time.  Bench press: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 4 x 185, 2 x 205, 7 x 225, 5 x 235.  T-bar rows: 8 x 150, 8 x 155, 8 x 160, 8 x 155, 8 x 150.  My weights on the T-bar rows are well off what I’ve done in the past, but because I haven’t done any in a few weeks I figured it was better to start out light.

Thursday morning I drove into Queens to get an EZPass for the (obscene) tolls on the Throgs Neck Bridge.  While EZPass does not offer any discount on the (obscene) toll amount it does often let you get through the toll gates much more quickly than cash customers.  Next week I’ll be going to Connecticut at least twice and therefore will have to take the bridge.  Now, had things worked out as planned I would have been able to take a far more convenient bridge farther east on Long Island Sound, but of course it never was built.  At any event, the EZPass service center in Queens wasn’t crowded and I was in and out in less than 15 minutes, shiny new EZPass in hand.  Not that I could actually use it just yet.  It turns out that it takes about 24 hours to “activate” a new EZPass.  As it’s a completely computerized process with no human input there is no reason whatsoever why there should be any time lag.  Getting the approval code on my credit card took all of three or four seconds.  Of course, the difference is that the government runs EZPass, and commits legal extortion by collecting the (obscene) tolls [Note: given that my employer will be paying me for the (obscene) tolls I shouldn’t be complaining about their obscenity, but it’s the principle of the thing.]

By the time I got home early in the afternoon on Thursday, my back and knees ached and I was a slight bit dizzy.  Oh great, just the time to come down with some bug.  I pretty much lay around for the rest of the day, my gym plans being set aside, and by the evening was in better shape except for some coughing.

Published in: on May 27, 2012 at 1:32 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/05/27/tuesday-may-22-thursday-may-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

