Friday, June 8

Me no likely summer Fridays

Ugh.  And double ugh.  Getting to Stamford this morning was no trouble, my usual 85-minute trip, but getting home?  Another story indeed.  I was lulled into a false sense of security by a fairly easy drive to the Throgs Neck Bridge. Traffic moved just fine on I-95 and over the bridge itself.  I decided to take the Clearview to the Long Island Expressway because traffic on the Cross Island looked heavy.  What I wasn’t expecting is that traffic on the Clearview got very slow over a half-mile before the exit to the eastbound Expressway.  This was merely a foreshadowing of what joys awaited me on the Expressway itself.  It took me nearly 90 minutes to cover the 40 or so miles to my exit.  Traffic was stop and go all the way to Exit 38, once again between 40 and 41 and between 48 and 50, but the worst was yet to come.  Traffic shut down tighter than a drum at Exit 53 and didn’t start to ease until Exit 61, several miles away.  All the time I was silently (or silent-ish) cursing all the people who had gotten it into their heads that it would be so nice to get away for the weekend.  Hey, I don’t care if they have fancy vacation plans, but it would be so much nicer if they could have waited until I got off the Expressway.

I found out that in another couple of weeks I’ll be going to a different customer’s place of business in Connecticut … specifically, West Haven.  That’s a good 25 miles beyond Stamford, meaning that I’ll be driving 100 miles each way.  Fortunately, it’ll be only for a couple of weeks, then I’ll be working back on Long Island for the foreseeable future.

Published in: on June 14, 2012 at 1:13 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/06/14/friday-june-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sometimes when coming off the Throgs Neck and the Cross Island and Clearview are jammed, Northern Blvd. can get you pointed in the right direction. Yes there are lights, they’re sequenced out, I’d rather be moving towards home than sitting in traffic jams.

  2. Good point, though in my (relatively limited) experience the lights on Northern Boulevard don’t seem to be timed. If anything, they seemed timed so that cars stop at each one, limited traffic speeds.


Leave a Reply

