Monday, June 11 – Wednesday, June 13

Split-second timing

In my third week of driving to Stamford every day, I’ve come to a tentative conclusion: a difference of 10 minutes in the time I leave the customer’s place of business can translate into a difference of 30 minutes in the time I reach home.  It should come as no surprise that traffic on the Long Island Expressway is the culprit.  Here are my results for these three days:

  • Monday: left worksite at 3:00, got home at 5:10 (2 hours 10 minutes)
  • Tuesday: left worksite at 2:40, got home at 4:25 (1 hour 45 minutes)
  • Wednesday: left worksite at 1:30, got home at 3:00 ( 1 hour 30 minutes)

It usually takes me about 40 minutes to get to the Expressway from Stamford.  Until this week it generally had been a bit less, but for some reason I’ve lately been encountering sluggish traffic on I-95 as far as Exit 3 in Greenwich even though I’m driving outside of rush hour.  If I reach the Expressway before 3:00 I generally can zoom right along with only a couple relatively brief slowdowns.  It may be no coincidence that 3:00 is the start of rush hour, at least that’s when the HOV lane restrictions begin. After 3:00, even just slightly after, and the slowdowns are much worse.  For instance, on Monday, I didn’t get onto the Expressway until 3:45, and absolutely crawled for several long stretches.  The worst of all was between exits 53 and 58, a distance of maybe five miles that took me over 20 minutes.

All in all, it’s just bizarre how quickly traffic builds up in the afternoons.  And it sort of defies logic.  I speak of 3:45 as a very late time to get a start on Expressway traffic, when in fact most people are still at work at that time.  At least mornings are predictable, as I can count on an 80- to 85-minute trip.

 

 

Published in: on June 16, 2012 at 12:49 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/06/16/monday-june-11-wednesday-june-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

