Thursday, June 14 – Friday, June 15

Bridge and Friday follies

Neither of these days ranks among my better ones.  Thursday started out okay, with a faster-than-usual morning trip, barely 80 minutes to cover 75 miles.  My fast time is mostly attributable to unusually good luck with the forest of traffic lights in downtown Stamford.  I left around 2:30, encountering some traffic on I-95 near the Stamford-Greenwich line but nothing too bad.  The radio traffic report mentioned that a truck fire on the New Jersey side of the George Washington Bridge was being cleared, but there was nothing else that seemed out of the ordinary.  I pretty much ignored that report and continued on my merry way down I-95.  Big mistake.  About a mile before the Throgs Neck Bridge exit traffic locked up tighter than a drum.  The bridge delays stretched all the way back, past the Bruckner Interchange.  It took me nearly 20 minutes to cover the one mile to the exit.  This delay had a further effect, as it meant that I didn’t get onto the Long Island Expressway (via the Cross Island) until about 3:30, which in turn translated to some very sluggish traffic at the usual spots.  My return journey ended up taking about 2:15, compared to the 1:40 or so it would have taken without the delay on I-95.

Friday?  The less said about Friday, the better.  Sure, the morning was fine, but I knew that the afternoon would be a disaster.  It was the start of a summer weekend, with a forecast of fine weather, and of course it was Father’s Day weekend.  I’ll spare you the gruesome details, only pointing out that it took 2:45 for me to get home even though I left shortly after two in the afternoon.  I encountered something new – a long delay (c. 15 minutes) at the Throgs Neck Bridge toll booth, even though I have EZ-Pass.   Not only are the tolls obscene, but I had the dubious “privilege” of waiting to pay them.

On a different note, I found out on Friday that I’ll be going to Stamford at least until Wednesday of next week, possibly for the entire week.  That’s just as well, as it postpones what I know will be an even worse trip to West Haven.

Gym: I did some benching on Thursday evening.  6 x 135, 6 x 165, 4 x 185, 2 x 205, 2 x 6 x 225, 8 x 185, 10 x 135.

Published in: on June 18, 2012 at 12:47 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/thursday-june-14-friday-june-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

