Tuesday, June 26 – Wednesday, June 27

Like night and day

It was back to Stamford for these two days, I’ll be returning to West Haven on Thursday.  I was hoping that Tuesday would be a good day traffic-wise.  For a somewhat selfish reason, as it was my birthday and I didn’t want it to be marred by traffic nonsense.  I got my wish.  Getting to the work location was a breeze, about 85 minutes, and the return trip in the early afternoon was okay if not without some troubles.  As I was heading south on I-95 into the Bronx I saw a sea of brake lights ahead of me.  I got off at Connor Street, the first exit in the Bronx, and  headed south on Baychester Avenue and a couple other streets whose names I didn’t notice.  I don’t know what caused all the traffic drama, but when I got a good look at I-95 near the Hutchinson River Parkway crossover things looked okay.  I got back on the highway, and within a few minutes was across the Throgs Neck Bridge into Queens.  Traffic on the Cross Island Parkway and the Long Island Expressway was moving okay, and even with my short detour onto surface streets the return journey took just under two hours.

Wednesday was a much worse day.  A thoroughly wretched day, in fact.  My morning trip took 1:45, about 20 minutes longer than usual, due to a completely inexplicable slowdown on the Expressway in western Nassau.  There were no obvious reasons for the heavy traffic and the electronic message signs showed the long travel times but did not give any reasons.  As for getting home, the less said, the better.  Even though I left well before rush hour it took an agonizing 45 minutes to get over the Throgs Neck Bridge.  I figured that there must have been a crash or construction work on the span, but there was nothing.  As far as I can tell, it was all attributable to heavy volume, but why?  I haven’t a clue.

Wednesday evening I did some back work at the gym.  Hammer Strength MTS Front Pulldown: 3 x 8 x 100/100.  Hammer Strength MTS High Row: 6 x 6 x 100/100.

 

Published in: on June 29, 2012 at 10:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/tuesday-june-26-wednesday-june-27/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

