Thursday, June 28 – Friday, June 29

Two ugly days

Back to West Haven, after my two-day Stamford interlude, but after a bad day on the roads Wednesday no relief came my way.  Mornings were okay, just under two hours each day, but the afternoons were dreadful.  On Thursday, as I was heading through Connecticut, radio traffic reports warned of long delays at the Throgs Neck Bridge.  With ample advance warning I took I-287 to the Hutchinson River Parkway and then to the Whitestone Bridge.  As it turned out, the Whitestone was no bowl of cherries either, it took me close to 40 minutes to make it to the toll booths and across the span.  Just like Wednesday’s nightmare at the Throgs Neck there was no obvious reason for the traffic crawl and I was traveling well before the start of the evening rush hour.  About the only decent thing was that traffic on both the Cross Island and the Long Island Expressway was moving well.  Even so, my trip took about three hours.

Friday’s trip home called for some impromptu maneuvering on my part.  There was some heavy traffic on I-95 in Connecticut, though it wasn’t remotely as the almost endless crawl in the eastbound* lanes.  Traffic reports said that there was a big delay on I-95 in the Bronx and at the Whitestone Bridge.  What this meant is that I had to take the Hutchinson River Parkway, which leads directly to the Whitestone, but find some way of getting to the Throgs Neck.  Which I somehow did.  I got off the Hutch at Pelham Parkway and made my way over to Bruckner Boulevard.  I followed the Bruckner and some other streets whose names I don’t recall and finally got on I-295 (an extension of the Cross Bronx Expressway) to the Throgs Neck.  Traffic on the bridge was reasonably good, though my obligate use of city streets probably cost me at least 20 minutes thanks to the multitude of red lights.  While on the Throgs Neck I saw that the Cross Island was jammed and ended up taking the Whitestone Expressway.  A very long line of vehicles waiting to exit to the Long Island Expressway meant that I had to go an exit further and take the Grand Central/Northern State Parkway (the name changes at the city line).  The Northern State had some slow stretches but moved okay, as did the Expressway when I switched to it via the Seaford-Oyster Bay Expressway.    As I had some errands to run before I got home I didn’t keep track of what the direct journey time would have been, but it would have been comparable to Thursday’s three hours.

Gym: some bench pressing on Friday evening.  6 x 135, 6 x 165, 4 x 185, 2 x 205, 3 x 6 x 225, 8 x 185.  The elbow soreness that had bothered me earlier in the week wasn’t a factor.  One thing that was a bit more worrisome was a sign posted at the front desk saying that the gym is now issuing only month-to-month memberships.  No more six month or annual memberships.  Combined with the recent discontinuance of child care, I’m concerned that Ultimate Fitness’s future may be cloudy.  A huge LA Fitness opened about six months ago not far away and may be drawing away business.  After almost a decade I would very definitely hate having to change gyms.

* = northbound, strictly speaking.  I-95 in Connecticut is signed north-south even though it runs in more of an east-west direction.

Published in: on July 1, 2012 at 3:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/07/01/thursday-june-28-friday-june-29/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

