Saturday, July 14 – Sunday, July 15

It’s been a few weeks since that left elbow pain that used to bother me at the gym has been an issue.  Until Saturday, that is, when it forced a premature end to my bench press session.  I had decided beforehand to do a 10 x 3 routine at 225, an old favorite that I haven’t done in a year or more.  As I went through the warmups, 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 4 x 185, 2 x 205, my elbow was starting to hurt but wasn’t too bad.  But then when I began the working sets at 225 it got much worse and I ended up calling it quits after four sets (for a total of 12 reps at 225).  There is good pain and there is bad pain, and this was in the latter category.  Not being able to do the full 10 x 3 was a disappointment, but as the old saying goes, better safe than sorry.

On Sunday, I started out with Hammer Strength MTS high rows, 4 x 8 x 100/100.  While the pulling motion of this exercise wasn’t as hard on my elbow as the pushing motion of bench pressing, there still was some minor pain, and though it wasn’t much my cautionary approach from Saturday still prevailed.  As an alternative, I decided to do some leg work, which I’ve been neglecting for months.  Life Fitness seated leg press: 4 x 10 x 395.  Seated leg curls: 4 x 8 x 170.  Life Fitness horizontal leg press: 3 x 6 x 230.  It was a fairly hot day and the gym’s air conditioning was indifferent at best. One thing I’d forgotten is just how draining leg work can be, especially when it’s hot!

Published in: on July 18, 2012 at 1:41 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/saturday-july-14-sunday-july-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

