Tuesday, July 17 – Wednesday, July 18

Yeah, that Panera Bread Strategy worked really well

Tuesday was yet another day of taking the ferry from Bridgeport to Port Jefferson rather than dealing with traffic after work.  This was because I didn’t get out until almost 3:30, which of course meant that I’d be facing the worst of rush hour traffic on the Long Island Expressway.  The 4:30 ferry was a nice trip as usual, though given the day’s very hot weather there was too much heat haze to allow for decent views.  At least the wind on the top outdoor deck made it seem much cooler than it really was.

Wednesday was yet another late departure from West Haven, this time around 3:20.  Even though I’ll get a partial reimbursement in a few weeks I didn’t really want to pay yet another $54 on the ferry.  As an alternative I tried the Panera Bread Strategy that worked well last week, in other words spending about an hour at a Panera in Queens in the hope that Expressway traffic would clear.  I arrived about 4:45, traffic on I-95 and across the Throgs Neck Bridge having moved well, and stayed until 5:40.  There were some ferocious thunderstorms and torrential rains while I waited, and I figured it was better to deal with them indoors than on the road.  Many other people must have had the same idea, even if not in that particular Panera, as once I got on the Expressway there were still quite a few slow stretches.  It was almost seven before I got home.  At least I got to see a spectacularly vivid rainbow not long after my arrival.

I didn’t mention either morning because both were very easy, under two hours each day with no traffic to speak of.

Published in: on July 21, 2012 at 3:18 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/07/21/tuesday-july-17-wednesday-july-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

