Monday, July 30 – Wednesday, August 1

More like a vacation than work

No, I am not on vacation this week.  Each day I have gone to a customer’s place of business in Port Chester.  Nonetheless it feels like a vacation.  In part this is because the drive is so much easier in comparison to West Haven.  I left the house at 5:30 each morning, and even with a stop at 7-11 I made it to Port Chester by 6:50.  This is especially remarkable because my later departure as compared to West Haven means that I’m encountering heavier traffic.  One thing that helps is that the customer’s place of business isn’t far off I-95.

Now, as for rush hour traffic after work … well I have no idea, because I haven’t been encountering anything of the sort.  Each day I’ve finished up my work around noon and therefore have been able to avoid heavy traffic.  My return trips haven’t been notably longer than the morning ones, the one exception being on Tuesday when a crash on the Long Island Expressway (in the other direction, but with rubbernecking in my direction) delayed me about ten minutes. I still get paid for the full workday, which combined with the easy drive is why this week so far has been almost like a paid vacation.  Things won’t be as easy next week, when I start my four-week stint in Danbury, both because of the longer drive and because there should be a heavier workload, and I imagine I’ll also be busier when I return to Port Chester for three weeks in September.  For now, however, I’m enjoying things.

Port Chester trivia:
(1) it’s pronounced as if it were just one word; (2) it surely must be one of the few cities in America with a significant Bolivian population; and (3) it’s a somewhat down-at-the-heels working class city, but is sandwiched right between (and very close to) the very wealthy communities of Rye and Greenwich.

Gym: I was way too exhausted to go on Monday, and Tuesday other things intervened, but I finally made it on Wednesday for a very successful bench press session.  6 x 135, 6 x 165, 4 x 185, 2 x 205, 4 x 225, 4 x 235, 2 x 255, 6 x 225, 8 x 185, 10 x 135.

Published in: on August 1, 2012 at 11:56 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/monday-july-30-wednesday-august-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

