Wednesday, August 15 – Friday, August 17

The exquisite pleasure of working (semi) locally

It’s funny how our perspectives can change.  My new work location in Nassau County is about a 45-minute drive away.  It would be longer if I left later into the peak of rush hour, but given my early work hours 45 minutes is about right.  Most people would regard driving 45 minutes each way to work as tolerable, but far from ideal.  They’d prefer something shorter.  To me, however, it’s like nothing.  I don’t have to deal with the heavier traffic in western Nassau, there’s no trek over the Throgs Neck Bridge (and no obscene tolls), and no sometimes lengthy drives in Westchester County or Connecticut.  So whatever other people may think of a 45-minute trip, to me it’s sheer pleasure.

One thing to note is that 45 minutes is just about the length of time it takes me to get to the Throgs Neck Bridge if there’s no traffic, even though the distance is at least 15 miles further than my current workplace.  That’s because getting to the current location requires some driving on regular, non-highway roads, and as they are very busy commercial streets there are traffic lights everywhere.   While I have some choices as to the exact routing, I’ve found that the Expressway to the Meadowbrook Parkway is the routing which involves the least distance on surface streets.  Its only disadvantage is that it involves driving further west on the Expressway than my other options and a greater risk of heavy traffic in the morning hours.  If I take Exit 40S to Brush Hollow Road I can get off before the  area of heaviest traffic but have to deal with substantially more traffic lights.  If things are really bad on the Expressway I also can get off at Exit 41S to Route 107, then getting on Old Country Road* in downtown Hicksville; using this route means that I’ll encounter too many lights to count, on the other hand it is very rare for there to be traffic slowdowns on the Expressway east of 41S.  Whatever the specific case, I am glad to have options.

Work these three days went well, I was busy but got quite a bit accomplished.  On Thursday, however, I got some highly unwelcome news: sometime between late October and early November I’ll be sent to a customer’s site in North Haven, Connecticut for three or four weeks.  My four weeks in West Haven, 115 miles each way, were pretty brutal.  North Haven is at least ten miles (through heavy traffic) further.  To preserve what’s left of my sanity, when the date gets closer I’m going to see if I can get a full reimbursement for taking the ferry in the afternoons.  I can deal with the full drive in the mornings.  I haven’t yet gotten my reimbursement for July expenses so I don’t know exactly what my partial reimbursement will be for the three times I took the ferry while working in West Haven.  My employer should be willing to make a full reimbursement.  What with the time-based system for reimbursing drive time, an afternoon trip home from North Haven would be around $45, while the ferry isn’t that much more at $54.

Gym: I was quite energetic on Thursday and had a very good upper body session.  Bench press: 6 x 135, 6 x 165, 4 x 185, 2 x 205, 8 x 225, 4 x 235, 3 x 245, 6 x 225, 8 x 185, 10 x 135.  Neutral grip pull-ups: 1 x 5, 2 x 4, 3 x 3, 4 x 2.

* = despite its bucolic-sounding moniker, Old Country Road is an immensely busy commercial thoroughfare.

Published in: on August 19, 2012 at 2:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/08/19/wednesday-august-15-friday-august-17/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

