Thursday, August 23 – Friday, August 24

Queens Interlude

I spent these two days on a short-term assignment at a customer’s location in Queens.  It’s short-term because I’ll be going back to Connecticut next week, Ridgefield to be specific, and then after Labor Day it’ll be off to White Plains for at least a month.  The drive to Queens wasn’t bad in a distance sense, but I was going through some areas of very heavy traffic even at 6:30 in the morning.  On Thursday, traffic on the Long Island Expressway was pretty much bumper-to-bumper from just west of the Clearview Expressway to the Woodhaven Boulevard exit.  Another complicating factor is that the workplace was north of the Expressway close to the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway (BQE).  I’ve never had reason to go that way before and did not realize that there is no direct exit from the westbound Long Island Expressway to the northbound BQE.  Instead I had to get off at 48th Street and then follow surface roads to the BQE, with the main road going right through the middle of an enormous cemetery.  I have to say, it’s somewhat surrealistic to see the way NYC cemeteries pack headstones together at a far higher density than you’ll see anywhere else.  I finally got on the BQE near Queens Boulevard, only to get off literally a minute or two later at the Northern Boulevard exit.  Getting home was easier as I took the BQE to the Grand Central/Northern State Parkway.

Strange as it may sound, I cannot remember Friday morning’s exact route.  Having learned my lesson the day before I switched from the Expressway to the Northern State Parkway in Nassau, the Northern State becoming the Grand Central Parkway at the city line, with the intention of getting onto the southbound BQE.  As I headed west into Queens, however, I realized that the fuel situation was getting urgent (the “low fuel” light having gone on even before I entered Queens) and that I’d better get off at the next exit and find a gas station.  I was so focused on finding gas that I wasn’t really paying attention to locations, but as best I can recall I found myself on Union Turnpike and then headed west on Metropolitan Avenue in the southern part of Forest Hills.  These precincts seemed rather devoid of gas stations, but fortunately I found a rather disreputable-looking one that was open.  It was expensive, something like $4.10 per gallon, but any port in a storm and all that.  I ended up taking Woodhaven Boulevard north to Queens Boulevard, to the BQE and finally Northern Boulevard.  There were a quadrillion traffic lights along the way, fortunately they were timed so that I was able to get most of them green.  Coming home was a repeat of the day before.

Gym: I had a very good session of neutral grip pull-ups on Thursday. 2 x 6, 2 x 5, 2 x 4, 2 x 3, 2 x 2, for a total of 40 reps.

Published in: on August 27, 2012 at 1:35 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/thursday-august-23-friday-august-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

