Wednesday, September 19 – Friday, September 21

I am immeasurably happy to be done with White Plains

No joke.  The three weeks I have spent working in this location have felt more like three months, I’d say that’s Einstein’s Theory of Relativity in action but that’s not actually what it means.  The specific reasons why White Plains was so miserable are complicated, and in any event giving more detail would compromise the necessary confidentiality I must maintain, but suffice to say the workload was brutal.  Which is a pity, as White Plains wasn’t that long of a drive for me.

Now, speaking of long drives, on Monday I’ll be starting a 3- or 4-week assignment in North Haven, Connecticut.  Itwill be a very long drive, specifically about 125 miles each way.  While that sounds hideous, it’s only about ten miles longer than West Haven, where I spent most of July.  True, the extra ten miles could be the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back, but I wouldn’t think so.  It’s all highway driving (I-95 to I-91), and while I’ll be going through the center of New Haven I won’t be going in peak direction.  New Haven is not so large a city as to create non-peak-direction traffic.

As for traffic going to and from White Plains, I have little to report.  Each of these three days was pretty routine.  About the only thing of note is that I took the Northern State Parkway on Thursday morning rather than the Long Island Expressway because an electronic sign reported that a lane on the Expressway was blocked at Exit 48 by a disabled truck.  I knew that the loss of a lane could really wreak havoc, fortunately this warning came before Exit 53 and I was able to make a quick getaway via the Sunken Meadow Parkway and then the Northern State.

Published in: on September 22, 2012 at 8:57 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/09/22/wednesday-september-19-friday-september-21/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

