Monday, September 24 – Tuesday, September 25

Taking the ferry’s okay if I want to take it, but not when schmuckish behavior obliges me to take it

My three-week (or possibly longer) adventure in North Haven began quietly enough on Monday morning.  I had been dreading the 125-mile drive, but to my pleasant surprise I made it in just a bit over two hours.  And that was with some moderate rain in Connecticut.  Traffic flowed smoothly almost the entire way, with only the barest hints of a slowdown caused by a stretch of grooved pavement on I-95 just east of Stamford.   Speaking of which, did people say “groovy” pavement in the 1970’s?  Anyway, although driving through the rain was slightly annoying, I was treated to the sight of a rainbow over Sleeping Giant Park (where I’ve done some hiking in the past).  While the arc of the rainbow extended only about 20 degrees up from the horizon, it was the thickest rainbow I ever recall seeing.

After a busy but productive day, I took the ferry back home as planned, getting the 4:30 sailing out of Bridgeport.  It’s about a 20-minute drive from my workplace, and if I had had a reservation I might have been able to make the 3:30 sailing, but I figured that wouldn’t be  feasible and stopped at the Milford rest area for a grilled cheese.  “Cheese Boy” has a location in the food court and I must say its grilled cheeses are excellent.  The ferry was a pleasant ride as always, though it got a bit cold on the open top deck.  Not that I was about to sit in the enclosed cabin when I could take in the views from the top.

Tuesday morning was basically a rainbow-less repeat of Monday.  It took about as long, with no significant traffic.  When I left the worksite about 3, I was hoping for a decent drive home even though it would surely be longer than the morning’s trip.  What I was most definitely not counting upon was a huge traffic jam on I-95.  It took me over 40 minutes to go just a few miles from the I-91 merge to Exit 42 in West Haven.  What really got me angry was the fact that the traffic jam was caused by a crash … in the opposite direction.  Yep, people are such schmucks that they’ve just got to slow to a crawl and gape at a crash, granted it was a pretty wicked one.  I was seething was anger at this display of human idiocy, because I knew that I wouldn’t be able to get onto the Long Island Expressway until 5:15 or 5:20 at the earliest, which meant that traffic would be fearsome.

I ended up taking the 4:30 ferry once again.  Although I didn’t get to the ferry dock until about 4:20 I figured, correctly as it turned out, that ridership is a bit less on Tuesdays than on Mondays and there’d be room for my car.  Of course this meant that I had to shell out another $54.  Although I’ll be reimbursed, that’s not the point: I should not have to take the ferry because people are idiots.

Published in: on September 26, 2012 at 10:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ironrailsironweights.wordpress.com/2012/09/26/monday-september-24-tuesday-september-25/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

